Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Florida Construction Lawyer
Schedule a Case Analysis
Quick Contact Form

Florida’s Marijuana Laws: Overview And Updates


Considering the vast array of laws on use of marijuana across the US and its territories, it is no wonder that people get confused about how they apply. Statistics reveal that pot-related arrests comprise more than half of all drug cases in America. Of the 820,000 individuals who are charged with marijuana offenses every year, 88 percent were in possession of small amounts. Though there are countless specific reasons behind an arrest, not understanding the laws and legal system is certainly a factor for some cases.

It is always helpful to review some basics about laws on marijuana, since they frequently change with the movement towards full legalization. Until such time, the penalties for any pot-related charges are harsh if you are convicted. You should reach out to a Florida criminal defense lawyer right away after an arrest, because legal counsel is most effective when you retain representation as early on in the process as possible. An overview and updates on marijuana laws in Florida are also useful.

 Types of Marijuana Crimes: The fundamentals of Florida marijuana laws focus on the type and amount of the controlled substances, as well as what you were doing with them.

  • Possession of marijuana is the least serious of the pot-related offenses. You could face charges if you have it on your person, in your car, inside a bag, or any other spaces where you have control over the items.
  • Selling marijuana is also prohibited, and a person may be arrested even when no money or other items of value are exchanged.
  • Trafficking laws apply to possession, selling, delivering, and other illegal acts. The key with trafficking charges is the weight of the controlled substances. If you have 25 pounds or more, including plants, officials assume your acts are part of a trafficking scheme.

 Penalties for Marijuana Offenses: Even small amounts of pot can lead to serious punishment, and the bar for possession is set at 20 grams of cannabis. Less than this amount is a first degree misdemeanor penalized by a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you have up to 25 pounds in your possession, you could be sentenced to 5 years and a $5,000 fine for a third degree felony. Plus:

  • Selling pot in amounts under the threshold of trafficking is a third degree felony, and a subsequent offense is a second degree felony. A judge could order up to 15 years in prison for a conviction.
  • Trafficking marijuana in amounts from 25 to 2,000 pounds is a first degree felony. The mandatory minimum sentence is 3 years in prison, though a judge could order up to 30 years. For 2,000 to 10,000 pounds of cannabis, the mandatory minimum is 7 years in prison. 

Consult with a Florida Criminal Defense Lawyer Right Away

The penalties for marijuana crimes are severe, so a solid defense strategy is essential if you were arrested. To learn how Linkhorst Law Firm, P.A. can assist, please call 561-626-8880 or go online to schedule a consultation. Our firm serves Palm Beach County in many different criminal matters, and we are happy to help.



Facebook Twitter LinkedIn