How Would I Lose My Florida Contractor’s License?
Not everyone can get a contractor’s license. You need to display a lot of knowledge about the industry. But even once you get your license, you need to work hard to keep it.
As long as you follow the laws and stay out of trouble, you should be fine. However, many contractors get into trouble for various reasons. One wrong move can lead to license suspension or revocation.
Getting a contractor’s license is a huge responsibility. Make sure you follow the laws. Here’s what you need to know.
What the Law Says
Under Florida Statutes Section 469.009, a contractor’s license may be suspended or revoked or they could face continuing education or fines of up to $5,000 per violation for engaging in the following acts:
- Willfully or deliberately disregarding or violating the health and safety standards of the Occupational Safety and Health Act
- Proceeding on any job without obtaining all applicable approvals, authorizations, permits, and inspections
- Obtaining a license by fraud or misrepresentation
- Knowingly violating any building code
- Hiring unlicensed personnel, if the licensee knows or has reasonable grounds to know that the person or entity was unlicensed
- Committing misconduct that causes financial harm to a customer
You could also lose your contractor’s license due to the following:
- Failure to comply with bond requirements. Violating bond requirements is one of the most common reasons for a license suspension. When a contractor’s bond is canceled or they refuse to pay for one, they can lose their license.
- Failure to abide by workers’ compensation regulations. If you have employees, you need to have workers’ compensation insurance. If you have workers’ compensation and your policy expires or gets canceled, you could lose your license.
- Failure to resolve judgment. Contractors may get sued by clients, subcontractors, employees, and other entities for various reasons. However, you cannot simply ignore these lawsuits. You must handle these judgments in a timely manner. When you fail to do so, your license is at risk.
What Happens When Your License is Suspended or Revoked?
If your license becomes inactive or canceled, and you want to continue to work as a contractor, you need to take steps to reinstate it. You can contact the Department of Business and Professional Regulation to learn what you need to do.
However, you cannot simply continue to work without a license. Florida takes unlicensed work very seriously. Even for a first offense, you could face probation or one year in jail. Any subsequent offenses can be charged as felonies. You may face five years in jail and a fine of as much as $10,000.
Contact Us Today
Once a contractor gets their license, they have to work hard to keep it. There are things that may happen that could jeopardize it.
Dealing with a criminal or civil matter? Your license could be affected. Don’t ignore the situation. Seek legal help from a Florida construction lawyer from Linkhorst & Hockin, P.A. Call 561-626-8880 or fill out the online form to schedule a consultation.